EXPORT OFFER: Breeding fish, Citrus fruits, Cold meats and meat products, Halloumi and other cheese products, Melons and watermelons, Olive oil, Potatoes, Table grapes, Wines and alcohols, Vegetables and herbs, Aluminium products, Clothes and textiles, Furniture and accessories, Pharmaceutical products...
Cyprus Trade Centre in Poland
ul. J. Dąbrowskiego 70
02-561 Warszawa
tel: +48 22 854 01 77
fax: +48 22 854 01 80
e-mail: ctc@cyprustrade.pl
CTC Worldwide
About Cyprus
Official name: The Republic of Cyprus
Location and area: 9251km², third largest (after Sicily and Sardinia) Mediterranean island. Maximum length: 240 km, maximum width: 100km. Strategically located in the eastern Mediterranean basin at the confluence of three continents: Europe, Asia and Africa – 75 km from the southern coast of Turkey, 90 km west of Syria, 385 km north of Egypt and 380 km from the Greek Rhodes.
Largest cities: Nikosia (Lefkosia) (population: 245,900) – the capital of the country, administrative and economic centre,
Limassol (Lemessos) (population: 184,600) – the main commercial port, an important centre of international business and finance.
Larnaca (population: 86,400) – centre of business and tourism, the main international airport of the Island.
Paphos (population: 63,900) – tourist resort, archaeological sites
Population: 952,100 (December 2011) of which approximately 71,5% are Greek Cypriots, ca. 9,5% – Turkish Cypriots, ca. 19% – other minority groups and foreign residents
Languages: Greek and Turkish – the existing official languages; English – commonly used in business, administration, daily life
Religion: Most Greek Cypriots are Orthodox Christians. Turkish Cypriots are Muslim. Ca. 1% of the population of the island belongs to the Maronite, Armenian and Latin Rite of Christianity
Climate: Mediterranean climate with a hot, dry summer (temp. 22°C-36°C) and mild, wet Winter (temp. 5°-15°C). The warmest Mediterranean Island – over 300 sunny days a year (during the Winter months a thick layer of snow often lingers in the upper reaches of the Troodos Mountains).
Political system: Republic.
Presidential system – the president is the head of state who at the same time exercises the functions of head of government. The president is elected by universal suffrage for a five-year term, directs the work of the eleven-person Council of Ministers appointed by him/her. Since the end of February the office of the President of the Republic of Cyprus has been held by Demetris Christofias.
Legislative branch – unicameral parliament with 80 members (House of Representatives). Members are elected by universal suffrage for 5-year terms.
The judiciary – two-instance system with the Supreme Court that combines the powers of the chief judiciary authority and constitutional court.
Currency: Euro.
On 1 January 2008 the euro replaced the Cypriot pound. The exchange was made at the rate of 1 = 0,585274. Since 1 February 2008 the euro is the only legal tender currency in Cyprus